eritrea

Capital: Asmara

Population estimate: 5.6 million

Area: 117, 400 square kilometers

Borders: Sudan (west), Ethiopia (south), Djibouti (south west), Red Sea

Independence day: 24 May 1991 (country seceded from Ethiopia in 1993)

Major religion: Christianity, Islam

Official languages: Afar

President: Isaias Afwerki

Currency: Nafka

Key issues: Road traffic accidents, border tensions, migration, human and media rights

Interesting fact: Asmara is a UNESCO world heritage site

In brief

Repression still a problem in Eritrea

Repression still a problem in Eritrea

Monday October 1, 2018 – Friday October 5, 2018
Eritrean refugees in Ethiopia increases after border reopening

Eritrean refugees in Ethiopia increases after border reopening

Monday September 24, 2018 – Friday September 28, 2018
Ethio-Eritrean relations improves trade between the two countries

Ethio-Eritrean relations improves trade between the two countries

Monday September 17, 2018 – Friday September 21, 2018
Djibouti – Eritrea boarder dispute resolution

Djibouti – Eritrea boarder dispute resolution

Monday, September 10, 2018 – Friday, September 14, 2018
Eritrea and Djibouti sign a new peace agreement

Eritrea and Djibouti sign a new peace agreement

Monday, September 3, 2018 – Friday, September 7, 2018

Get Weekly Updates from The HORN Institute