About South Sudan

About South Sudan

Capital: Juba
Population Estimate: 12,919,053
Area: 619, 745 square kilometers
Borders: Sudan (north), Ethiopia (east), Kenya (south), Uganda (south east)
Independence Day: July 9, 2011
President: SalvaKiirMayardiit
Major Religion: Roman Catholic Christians
Other Common Religions: Traditional African Beliefs and Animism
Currency: South Sudanese Pound
Key Challenges: Civil wars, Governance, Insecurity, Corruption, Natural Resource
Interesting Fact: South Sudan depends on its oil reserves for revenue

Country Analysis


December 2018

Background South Sudan’s year has been marked by a major positive development: the signing of the Revitalized Agreement on the ...
Read More