south-sudan

Capital:Juba

Population estimate:12.23 million

Area:619, 745 square kilometers

Borders:Sudan (north), Ethiopia (east), Kenya (south), Uganda (south east)

Independence day:9 July 2011

President:Salva Kiir Mayardiit

Main Communities:Dinka, Nuer

Official language: English

Other common languages:Arabic, Dinka, Nuer

Currency:Sudanese pound

Key issues:Civil wars, governance, insecurity, corruption, natural resource conflicts

Interesting fact:The country depends on its oil reserves for revenue

In brief

South Sudan army accused of gross human rights violations, report

South Sudan army accused of gross human rights violations, report

Monday, September 3, 2018 – Friday, September 7, 2018
Plane crash kills 20 in South Sudan

Plane crash kills 20 in South Sudan

Monday, September 10, 2018 – Friday, September 14, 2018
Dr. Machar rejects Kiir’s offer to visit Juba

Dr. Machar rejects Kiir’s offer to visit Juba

Monday, September 17, 2018 – Friday, September 21, 2018
President Kiir appoints United Nations-blacklisted general as Deputy Defence Minister

President Kiir appoints United Nations-blacklisted general as Deputy Defence Minister

Monday September 24, 2018 – Friday September 28, 2018
Kiir, Malong disagree on return to Juba

Kiir, Malong disagree on return to Juba

Monday October 1, 2018 – Friday October 5, 2018

Get Weekly Updates from The HORN Institute