About Rwanda

Capital:  Kigali
Population Estimate:  11,901,484
Area: 26,338 sq km
Borders: Burundi, Democratic Republic of Congo, Tanzania, Uganda
Independence Day: July 1,1962
President: Paul Kagame
Major Religion: Christian
Other Common Religions:   Muslim
Currency:  Rwandan Francs (RWF)
Key Challenges:  High number of refugees (especially from DRC and Burundi) and internally displace persons, International disputes (especially with Burundi and Uganda)
Interesting Fact: 57,000 Rwandan refugees still reside in 21 African states, including Gabon and Zambia

Latest Articles