Rwanda

Capital: Kigali

Population estimate: 11,901,484

Area: 26,338 square kilometers

Borders: Burundi, Democratic Republic of Congo, Tanzania, Uganda

Independence day: 1st July 1962

Communities: 3

President: Paul Kagame

Major religion: Christianity

Other common religions: Islam

Currency: Rwandan francs (RWF)

Main issues affecting country: High number of refugees (especially from DRC and Burundi) and internally displace persons.

Interesting fact: 57,000 Rwandan refugees still reside in 21 African states, including Gabon and Zambia

In brief

African Development Bank Approves US$266-million Electric Grid Loan

African Development Bank Approves US$266-million Electric Grid Loan

Monday October 1, 2018 – Friday October 5, 2018
Israel, Rwanda think of opening mutual embassies

Israel, Rwanda think of opening mutual embassies

Monday September 24, 2018 – Friday September 28, 2018
Rwanda opposition leader, Victoire Ingabire, released from jail

Rwanda opposition leader, Victoire Ingabire, released from jail

Monday September 17, 2018 – Friday September 21, 2018
Rwanda’s OECD membership bid ambition

Rwanda’s OECD membership bid ambition

Monday, September 10, 2018 – Friday, September 14, 2018
Rwanda’s president Kagame welcomes Forum on China Africa Cooperation (FOCAC) summit

Rwanda’s president Kagame welcomes Forum on China Africa Cooperation (FOCAC) summit

Monday, September 3, 2018 – Friday, September 7, 2018

Get Weekly Updates from The HORN Institute