Capital: Nairobi

Population estimate: 48.46 million

Area: 582,646 square kilometers

Borders: Tanzania (south), Ethiopia (north), Somalia (north east), South Sudan (north west), Uganda (west)

Independence day: 12 December 1963

Communities: 44

President: Uhuru Muigai Kenyatta

Major religion: Christianity

Other common religions: Islam, Hinduism, indigenous

Currency: Kenya shillings

Main issues affecting country: Governance, al-Shabaab terrorist attacks, resource conflicts, historical injustices, unemployment, road carnage

Interesting fact: Kenya is the leading economy in the greater Horn of Africa region

Weekly Situational Analysis

Kenya government to effect 16% tax on petroleum products

Get Weekly Updates from The HORN Institute