ethiopia

Capital: Addis Ababa

Population estimate: 102.5 million

Area: 1.13 million square kilometers

Borders: Eritrea (east), Djibouti (south east), Kenya (south), Sudan (north west), South Sudan (west), Somalia (south east)

Communities: 80

Prime Minister: Abiy Ahmed Ali

Major religions: Islam, Christianity

Currency: Birr

Major Languages: Oromo, Amharic, Tigrinya, Somali

Main issues affecting country: Border disputes with Eritrea and Somalia, human rights abuses

Interesting fact: Ethiopia was not colonized, and is the fastest growing economy in Africa

In brief

Abiy nominated for Nobel Peace Prize, 2018

Abiy nominated for Nobel Peace Prize, 2018

Monday October 1, 2018 – Friday October 5, 2018
United States wants to be partners in Ethiopia’s evolution

United States wants to be partners in Ethiopia’s evolution

Monday September 24, 2018 – Friday September 28, 2018
Ethiopia PM asks Oromo parties to unite, safeguard ongoing reforms

Ethiopia PM asks Oromo parties to unite, safeguard ongoing reforms

Monday September 17, 2018 – Friday September 21, 2018
Ethiopia – China ties

Ethiopia – China ties

Monday, September 10, 2018 – Friday, September 14, 2018
Former Ethiopian Cabinet Minister, Junedin Sado, returns to fanfare

Former Ethiopian Cabinet Minister, Junedin Sado, returns to fanfare

Monday, September 3, 2018 – Friday, September 7, 2018

Get Weekly Updates from The HORN Institute