Burundi

Capital: Bujumbura

Population estimate: 11,466,756

Area: 27,830 square kilometers

Borders: Democratic Republic of Congo to the West, Rwanda to the North, Tanzania to the East and South

Independence day: 1st July 1962

Communities: 3

President: Pierre Nkurunziza

Major religion: Christianity

Other common religions: Islam

Currency: Burundi francs (BIF)

Main issues affecting country: International disputes (Burundi and Rwanda), refugees and internally displaced persons, trafficking in persons

Interesting fact: Burundi is one of the smallest countries in Africa

In brief

Burundi suspends all international non-governmental organizations

Burundi suspends all international non-governmental organizations

Monday October 1, 2018 – Friday October 5, 2018
Burundian refugees return home

Burundian refugees return home

Monday, September 24, 2018 – Friday, September 28, 2018
Armed group behead youth chief in Burundi’s ruling party

Armed group behead youth chief in Burundi’s ruling party

Monday September 17, 2018 – Friday September 21, 2018
Burundi opposition call for peace talks to end

Burundi opposition call for peace talks to end

Monday, September 10, 2018 – Friday, September 14, 2018
UN panel calls for ICC investigation into crimes against humanity in Burundi

UN panel calls for ICC investigation into crimes against humanity in Burundi

Monday, September 3, 2018 – Friday, September 7, 2018

Get Weekly Updates from The HORN Institute