About Burundi

Capital: Bujumbura
Population estimate: 11,890,784 million (Source: World Bank)
Area: 27,830 square kilometers
Borders: Democratic Republic of Congo to the West, Rwanda to the North, Tanzania to the East and South
Independence day: 1st July 1962
Communities: 3
President: Évariste Ndayishimiye
Major religion: Christianity
Other common religions: Islam
Currency: Burundi francs (BIF)
Main issues affecting country: International disputes (Burundi and Rwanda), refugees and internally displaced persons, trafficking in persons
Interesting fact: Burundi is one of the smallest countries in Africa

Country Analysis


February 2019

In China, Burundi finds a friend, even in hardship. China donated USD 22 million to build the presidential palace in ...

January 2019

Burundi continues to be politically divided and is facing international isolation after months of unrest. The troubles began when President ...

December 2018

The country is still battling the aftermath of the 2015 political crisis, following a failed coup on May 13, 2015 ...